Hapilos Digital Music Awards on Aug 22

Hapilos Digital Music Awards on Aug 22


The seventh 21st Hapilos Digital Music Awards is scheduled for August 22 at Knutsford Court Hotel in Kingston.

It will be based on digital sales data provided by over 200 retail outlets for music released between April 1 and March 31.

Awards will be handed out in 21 categories, including: Top Selling Singles, Top Rhythms, Top Producers, and Gospel Recognition.

The event will be hosted by 21st Hapilos’s vice-president of Client Projects, Nicole “Nikki Z” Duhaney.

The full list of nominees will be disclosed on July 1, a release from 21st Hapilos revealed. The inaugural 21st awards was held in May 2011.

Viking (Vybz Is King) by Vybz Kartel won Dancehall Album of The Year in 2016. It was co-produced by TJ Records and Adidjahiem.

Dancehall Single of The Year was On Fleek by Alkaline, produced by True Loyal Records.

The Intoxicated won Dancehall Riddim of The Year. It was produced by Troyton Music.

Hapilos Ent was launched in 2009. The company has distributed albums and songs by Mavado, Beenie Man, Sean Paul, Alkaline, Vybz Kartel, Shaggy, Damian Marley, J Boog, Elephant Man, and Collie Buddz.

— HC

Tell a friend